print preview

91st Mountain Infantry Battalion

GebInfBat91_Fahnenabgabe_Chur_2019

Flag ceremony of the 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion in Chur on August 28th, 2019.

Overview

The 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion (91st Mtn Inf Bn) is a component of the 3rd Territorial Division (3rd Ter Div) of the Swiss Armed Forces.

Our actions are always guided by our motto: "Unified in responsibility, unified in success".

Since its establishment, the 91st Mtn Inf Bn traditionally bears a strong connection to its godfather canton, the canton of Grisons. During the First and Second World War, this relationship was intensified due to the 91st Mtn Inf Bn active deployment as a border defense unit in the canton of Grisons.

Our tasks are versatile, ranging from homeland defence to a multitude of subsidiary operations focusing on the prevention and management of existential threats. Notably, the 91st Mtn Inf Bn conducts various support operations benefitting civil authorities and the general population of the Swiss Confederation.

The 91st Mtn Inf Bn is a predominantly German-speaking formation. However, from the 1980s to the army reform XXI in 2003 several companies were commanded in Rhaeto-Romanic, a fact historically unique to the Swiss Armed Forces.

History

The 91st Infantry Battalion, as well as other battalions, was formed as a result of the introduction of the Swiss Confederation’s Military Organisation Act on the 13th December 1874. Thus, the year of 1874 may be viewed as the birthyear of the 91st Mtn Inf Bn and indeed the entire Swiss Armed Forces as they are known today.

Until 1874, military organization had been managed by the individual cantons. With the Military Organisation Act, this authority was almost completely transferred to the federal level, including military enforcement and the formation of schools, courses and general instruction.

The 91st Inf Bn was issued its title by the “Verordnung betreffend die Territorialeintheilung und die Numerirung der Truppeneinheiten, sowie der zusammengesetzten Truppenkörper” on the 13th December 1874.

It belonged to the 16th Brigade of the 8th Division and consisted of the recruitment territories Chur, Churwalden, Rhäzüns, Thusis, Safien, Domleschg, Schams, Avers, Rheinwald, Misox, Roveredo, and Calanca (recruitment territory 7th in the 8th Division).

The canton of Grisons had been already providing the Federal Army with troops before 1874, as did all other cantons, a fact validated by Grisons’ Military Organisation Act of the 3rd December 1851, as well as by those in 1860 and 1867.

The provided troops consisted of three infantry battalions, which in contrast to current times did not bear any numeration. It is however possible to deduce which former battalions constitute the core of the battalion from 1874 based on their respective recruiting territories.

A comparison of these individual recruitment territories reveals that in 1874, the entirety of troops in the 91st Inf Bn originate from each former Grisons battalion, rendering every pre-1874 Grisons battalion an ancestor of today’s 91st Mtn Inf Bn.

The decision to fortify the Alps in the regions of the Gotthard, Sargans, and Saint-Maurice, with outworks in the Ticino, the Simplon, and St. Luzisteig, was already made during the 19th century. However, it took until 1911 to implement adequately trained and equipped troops specifically dedicated to conduct operations in an alpine environment.

Four mountain infantry brigades were formed within the scope of the Troop Organisation Act of 1911. Each of these brigades encompassed three infantry regiments, each possessing auxiliary weaponry.

The 91st Infantry Battalion formed in 1874 was renamed the 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion as a result of these changes and received the appropriate conversions. Hence, 1911 is viewed as the second birthyear of the 91st Mtn Inf Bn. The 1911 iteration of the 91st was part of 36th Mountain Infantry Regiment within the 18th Mountain Infantry Brigade.

During the First World War (1914-1918), soldiers from St. Gallen, Glarus, and the Grisons served to protect the borders at the Umbrail pass, in the Engadin, and Münstertal to defend the sovereignty of the still rather young Swiss Confederation.

The 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion was one of these units, next to the 92nd and 93rd Mtn Inf Bn, which were also from the Grisons. At this point, the 91st Mtn Inf Bn was still incorporated in the 18th Mountain Infantry Brigade, which had been formed due to the Troop Organisation Act of 1911. In 1938, the 18th Mountain Infantry Brigade was renamed to the 12th Mountain Brigade.

Due to the deteriorating political climate, the number of mountain troops in the Swiss Armed Forces were increased thanks to the Army Organisation Act of 1938, resulting in three Mountain Divisions and three Mountain Brigades.

The new Army Organisation Act facilitated modern defences of the Swiss Alps for the entire period of active deployment during the Second World War (1939-1945).

Between the summer of 1940 and the autumn of 1944, the Alps were severely fortified and troops systematically prepared for alpine warfare. This strategy aided the deterrence of potential invaders.

The 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion, then part of the 12th Mountain Brigade, once again stood the test of adversity and defied the perils endangering Switzerland.

The 91st Mtn Inf Bn was subsequently renamed to the 91st Mountain Fusilier Battalion (91st Mtn Fus Bn). At the beginning of the Second World War, the battalion’s soldiers were doubly deployed in the 236th Border Battalion active in the region of the Splügen and San Bernadino pass. Therefore, the 91st Mtn Fus Bn was also appointed to defend the artillery fortress Crestawald.

Since the German panzer-divisions came threateningly close to the Swiss western border, the regiment was called “Combat Force Jorat” and moved to the Vaud. In 1944, the regiment returned to resume their service in the Grisons.

Thanks to the experiences of active service, the Troop Organisation Act of 1961 created the 3rd Mountain Army Corps (3rd Mtn AC), and the 12th Mountain Brigade was promoted to the 12th Mountain Division.

The central feature of the new 1961 Troop Organisation Act was the centralisation of command concerning all alpine forces.

The again renamed 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion was now part of the 12th Mountain Division, which had been formed in 1962 by the Troop Organisation Act of 1961, replacing the 12th Mountain Brigade. Within the 12th Mountain Brigade, the 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion was subordinated to the 36th Mountain Infantry Regiment.

After the end of the Cold War, the size of the Swiss Armed Forces was decreased, and its tasks redefined as part of the Troop Organisation Act of 1995. The 3rd Mtn AC was reduced by around a third of its size, mainly owing to the decommissioning of the six border and réduit brigades.

However, the 91st Mtn Inf Bn remained. In 1999, the entire Mountain Infantry Regiment was deployed for guard-service at the embassy in Berne.

After the 12th Mountain Division’s dissolution at the end of 2003, the 91st Mtn Inf Bn was used as a reserve battalion in the 12th Mountain Division’s successor, the 12th Mountain Brigade, before being provisionally deactivated in 2010.

Hence, before its deactivation, the 91st Mtn Inf Bn was part of the 3rd Territorial Region (3rd Ter Reg).

Armed Forces Development Programme (AFDP)

Due to the implementation of the Armed Forces Development Programme (AFDP), which became effective on January 1st, 2018, the 91st Mtn Inf Bn has been reactivated. Its servicemen predominantly derive from the decommissioned German-speaking 77th Mtn Inf Bn. In addition, the AFDP introduced the following other modifications:

The 3rd Territorial Region (3rd Ter Reg) has been transferred into the 3rd Territorial Division (3rd Ter Div). The 3rd Ter Div is subdivided into the 3rd Coordination Office, the 3rd Territorial Staff Battalion, the 29th, 30th, 48th and 91st Mountain Infantry Battalions, the 3rd Engineer Battalion as well as the 3rd Rescue Battalion.

The proven method of general conscription and the militia system is to be left untouched. The size of the Swiss Armed Forces will remain at 100,000 members, and the annual budget will be set at five billion francs.

 

1.      Increased Readiness

  • New, graduated system of readiness allows for fully equipped troops to be summoned and deployed rapidly even in unexpected events.
  • Newly named militia-formations with a high level of readiness are formed to complement and assist already deployed troops.
  • Reintroduction of a mobilisation system for the entirety of the Swiss Armed Forces.
 

2.      Optimisation of Cadre Training

  • Stronger focus on more effective cadre training, future NCOs and COs complete entire basic military training school (18 weeks).
  • The completion of an entire basic military training school and a full turn of practical service in the targeted military rank lead to early and crucial experiences in leadership.
  • Elongation of preliminary courses to one week in order to strengthen leadership skills and a general improvement of cadre training.
 

3.      Completion of Equipment

  • Reduction of the armed forces and the reallocation of materials allow for the complete equipment of the armed forces to especially complement civil authorities and basic services.
  • Official militia formations with high readiness are rapidly equipped in their respective logistical centres and their branches.
 

4.      Regional Centralisation

  • Territorial divisions support civil authorities in an efficient and flexible manner, provide assistance in cases of natural catastrophes, and carry out security and support operations (rooted in the individual cantons).
  • Strengthening territorial divisions by means of organically subordinated bodies of troops (one staff battalion, four infantry battalions, one engineer battalion, and one rescue battalion) with the possibility of further allocations.

Bn Comdr


Dear members of the 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion,

Dear visitors and interested parties,

 

I am delighted to welcome you to the official website of the 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion! Honouring its motto of “unified in responsibility, unified in success”, the long-standing 91st Mtn Inf Bn, which has been reactivated thanks to the Armed Forces Development Programme, solemnly contributes to the preservation of stability, security, and prosperity in Switzerland and that of its people.

To accomplish our missions, values such as a sense of duty, order and discipline are vital. Motivated soldiers and cadres, who defer their personal needs to benefit the collective and in doing so act dutifully, reputably, and in a disciplined manner, are crucial for the success of the battalion.

I am honoured to be allowed to report that these values are lived in the 91st Mtn Inf Bn. Every chain is only as strong as each individual link, and the strength of each link varies depending on the task at hand. With this knowledge, we aim to be respectful and supportive of each other, and always act as comrades.

I would like to tender my personal gratitude to every member of the 91st Mountain Infantry Battalion for the positive attitude you keep and the service you contribute to our battalion and the Swiss Confederation!

I am looking forward to serving with you.

 

MAJ GSO Michael Lampert

Comdr 91st Mtn Inf Bn

 

Photos

geb_inf_bat_91

Commanding Officer

91st Mtn Inf Bn HQ 3rd Ter Div
Neuland 8
CH-6460 Altdorf
Tel.
+41 58 481 43 43‬
Fax
+41 58 481 43 45

91st Mtn Inf Bn

HQ 3rd Ter Div
Neuland 8
CH-6460 Altdorf

print preview

Gebirgsinfanteriebataillon 91

GebInfBat91_Fahnenabgabe_Chur_2019

Das Geb Inf Bat 91 anlässlich der Fahnenabgabe vom 28. August 2019 in Chur.

Überblick

Das Gebirgsinfanteriebataillon 91 (Geb Inf Bat 91) ist Teil der Territorialdivision 3 (Ter Div 3) der Schweizer Armee.

Unser Handeln richtet sich nach dem Leitspruch: "Gemeinsam in der Verantwortung, gemeinsam erfolgreich!"

Traditionell verbunden ist das Geb Inf Bat 91 mit seinem Göttikanton Graubünden bereits seit seiner Gründung. Diese Beziehung verstärkte sich anlässlich des Grenzschutz- und Aktivdienstes während des Ersten und Zweiten Weltkrieges weiter, denn das Geb Inf Bat 91 war damals im Graubünden stationiert.

Die Aufträge des Geb Inf Bat 91 sind vielseitig: Im Zentrum stehen subsidiäre Sicherungseinsätze zur Prävention und Bewältigung existenzieller Gefahren und die klassische Landesverteidigung.

Bemerkenswert sind auch die diversen Unterstützungseinsätze, die das Geb Inf Bat 91 zugunsten ziviler Behörden und der Bevölkerung der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft leistet.

Das Geb Inf Bat 91 ist hauptsächlich deutschsprachig. AIlerdings wurden in den 1980er Jahren bis zur Armeereform XXI im Jahre 2003 einige Kompanien des Geb Inf Bat 91 auf Rätoromanisch (Rumantsch) geführt, was in der Geschichte der Schweizer Armee einzigartig ist.

Geschichte

Mit der Militärorganisation der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft des 13. Dezembers 1874 wurde nebst anderen Bataillonen auch das Inf Bat 91 gegründet. Das Jahr 1874 kann somit einerseits als Geburtsjahr des heutigen Geb Inf Bat 91 und andererseits der modernen Schweizer Armee bezeichnet werden

Dies, weil damit die Militärhoheit von den Kantonen praktisch komplett auf den Bund übertragen wurde. Dies beinhaltete auch den militärischen Vollzug, bzw. die Organisation von Schulen, Kursen und der Instruktion.

Mit der "Verordnung betreffend die Territorialeintheilung und die Numerirung der Truppeneinheiten, sowie der zusammengesetzten Truppenkörper" vom 13. Dezember 1874 erhielt das Inf Bat 91 seine Nummerierung.

Es gehörte zur XVI. Brigade der VIII. Division und rekrutierte sich aus den Kreisen Chur, Churwalden, Rhäzüns, Thusis, Safien, Domleschg, Schams, Avers, Rheinwald, Misox, Roveredo und Calanca (Rekrutierungskreis 7 in der VIII. Division).

Bereits vor der Militärorganisation von 1874 musste der Kanton Graubünden - wie die übrigen Kantone - Kontingenttruppen für das Bundesheer stellen. Dies bezeugt die Militärorganisation des Kantons Graubünden des 30. Dezembers 1851, sowie jene von 1860 und 1867.

Es handelte sich bei den gestellten Truppen unter anderem um drei Infanteriebataillone, die aber mit keiner heutzutage üblichen Nummer versehen waren. Allerdings lässt sich anhand der Rekrutierungskreise ungefähr nachverfolgen, welche vormaligen Bataillone den Kern des Inf Bat 91 von 1874 bildeten.

Verfolgt und vergleicht man diese Rekrutierungskreise, so kommt man zum Schluss, dass 1874 die Mannschaft des Inf Bat 91 aus allen ehemaligen Bündner Bataillonen stammt.

Das bedeutet, dass alle Bündner Infanteriebataillone vor 1874 Vorfahren des heutigen Gebirgsinfanteriebataillons 91 sind.

Obwohl bereits im 19. Jahrhundert der Entscheid gefällt wurde, das Alpenmassiv in den Sektoren Gotthard, Sargans und Saint-Maurice mit den Vorwerken im Tessin, am Simplon und am St. Luzisteig zu befestigen, entstanden erst mit der Truppenordnung des Jahres 1911 Einheiten, die eigens für den Einsatz im Gebirge organisiert, ausgerüstet und geschult waren.

Im Rahmen der Truppenordnung 1911 wurden vier Gebirgsinfanteriebrigaden geschaffen. Jede dieser Brigaden umfasste drei Infanterieregimenter, die über einige Unterstützungswaffen verfügten.

Das 1874 geschaffene Infanteriebataillon 91 wurde im Zuge dieser Veränderung zum Gebirgsinfanteriebataillon 91 und erfuhr eine dementsprechende Umwidmung. Folglich bezeichnet das Jahr 1911 das zweite Geburtsjahr des Geb Inf Bat 91. Eingeteilt war das Bataillon 1911 innerhalb der Gebirgsinfanteriebrigade 18 im Gebirgsinfanterieregiment 36.

Während des Ersten Weltkrieges (1914-1918) leisteten St. Galler, Glarner und Bündner am Umbrailpass, im Engadin und im Münstertal Grenzschutzdienst und verteidigten die Souveränität des relativ jungen Bundesstaates der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft.

Unter diesen Einheiten befand sich auch das Gebirgsinfanteriebataillon 91, sowie die ebenfalls Bündner Gebirgsinfanteriebataillone 92 und 93. Das Geb Inf Bat 91 war damals noch Teil der Gebirgsinfanteriebrigade 18, welche mit der Truppenordnung von 1911 gegründet wurde. Die Gebirgsinfanteriebrigade 18 wurde 1938 in Gebirgsbrigade 12 umbenannt.

Aufgrund der sich stetig verschlechternder politischen Lage, wurden die Bestände der Gebirgstruppen mit der Heeresorganisation des Jahres 1938 erhöht. Es entstanden drei Gebirgsdivisionen und drei Gebirgsbrigaden.

Diese neue Heeresorganisation ermöglichte eine moderne Verteidigung des Alpenraumes während der ganzen Zeit des Aktivdienstes im Zweiten Weltkrieg (1939-1945).

Vom Sommer des Jahres 1940 bis in den Herbst des Jahres 1944 wurden die Alpen intensiv befestigt und die Truppen systematisch auf den Gebirgskrieg vorbereitet. Diese Strategie trug viel zur Abschreckung potenzieller Angreifer bei.

Wiederum bewährte sich das Gebirgsinfanteriebataillon 91, das Teil der Gebirgsbrigade 12 war, in Zeiten höchster Not und trotzte den Gefahren, welche die Schweiz bedrohten.

Es wurde noch vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in Gebirgsfüsilierbataillon 91 (Geb Füs Bat 91) umbenannt. Zu Beginn des Zweiten Weltkriegs hatten die Wehrmänner eine Doppeleinteilung, nämlich auch als Grenz Bat 236 und waren vorwiegend im Raum Splügen- und San Bernardinopass bis Thusis eingesetzt. Somit war das Geb Füs Bat 91 auch Aussenverteidigung der Artilleriefestung Crestawald.

Als sich die deutschen Panzerdivisonen im Jahr 1940 der Schweizer Westgrenze bedrohlich näherten, wurde das Regiment als „Kampfgruppe Jorat“ ins Waadtland verlegt, um ab 1944 wieder in Graubünden zum Einsatz zu kommen.

Mit den Erfahrungen aus den Aktivdiensten wurde mit der Truppenordnung des Jahres 1961 das Gebirgsarmeekorps 3 (Geb AK 3) geschaffen und die Gebirgsbrigade 12 zur Gebirgsdivision 12 aufgewertet.

Das Hauptmerkmal dieser neuen Truppenordnung war, dass alle Einheiten, die für den Einsatz im Gebirge bestimmt waren, unter einem einzigen Kommando zusammengefasst wurden.

Das wieder als Gebirgsinfanteriebataillon 91 umbenannte Bataillon war Teil der mit der Armee 61 im Jahr 1962 geschaffenen Gebirgsdivision 12, welche die Gebirgsbrigade 12 ersetzte. Innerhalb der Gebirgsdivision 12 war das Geb Inf Bat 91 dem Gebirgsinfanterieregiment 36 unterstellt.

Mit der Armee 95 wurde nach dem Ende des Kalten Kriegs der Mannschaftsbestand verkleinert und die Aufgaben der Armee neu definiert. Das Geb AK 3 büsste ungefähr einen Drittel seines Bestands ein, hauptsächlich durch die Auflösung der sechs Grenz- und Réduitbrigaden.

Das Geb Inf Bat 91 blieb jedoch weiterhin bestehen. 1999 wurde das ganze Gebirgsinfanterieregiment 36 zum Botschafts-Bewachungsdienst in Bern eingesetzt.

Nach der Auflösung der Gebirgsdivision 12 Ende 2003 wurde das Geb Inf Bat 91 in der Nachfolgerin, der Gebirgsinfanteriebrigade 12, zuerst noch als Reserveverbund aufgeführt und ab 2010 vorläufig deaktiviert. Zuletzt war das Geb Inf Bat 91 also dementsprechend auch in der Territorialregion 3 (Ter Reg 3) eingeteilt.

 

 

 

Weiterentwicklung der Armee (WEA)

Mit der Weiterentwicklung der Armee (WEA), die am 1. Januar 2018 in Kraft trat, wurde das Geb Inf Bat 91 reaktiviert und besteht heute mehrheitlich aus dem deutschsprachigen und mittlerweile deaktivierten Geb Inf Bat 77. Die WEA brachte jedoch noch einige andere Veränderungen mit sich:

So wurde die Territorialregion 3 (Ter Reg 3) in die Ter Div 3 überführt. Die Ter Div 3 gliedert sich seither in die Koordinationsstelle 3, das Territorialstabsbataillon 3, die vier Gebirgsinfanteriebataillone 29, 30, 48 und 91, das Geniebataillon 9, sowie das Rettungsbataillon 3.

Unangetastet bleibt das bewährte Wehrpflicht- und Milizsystem. Der Sollbestand der Armee beträgt 100'000 Angehörige der Armee (AdA), während sich das jährliche Budget auf fünf Milliarden Franken beläuft.

 
1. Höhere Bereitschaft
  • Neues abgestuftes Bereitschaftssystem ermöglicht auch bei einem unerwarteten Ereignis voll ausgerüstete Truppen aus dem Stand aufzubieten und rasch einzusetzen.
  • Neu bezeichnete Milizformationen mit hoher Bereitschaft zur Ergänzung und Unterstützung bereits eingesetzter Truppen.
  • Für die gesamte Armee Wiedereinführung eines Mobilmachungssystems.

2. Effektivere Kaderausbildung
  • Fokus verstärkt auf wirksamere Kaderausbildung, künftige Kader absolvieren wieder eine gesamte Rekrutenschule (Dauer 18 Wochen).
  • Gesamte Rekrutenschule und vollständiges Abverdienen des letzten Dienstgrades innerhalb einer praktischen Dienstleistung bezweckt frühzeitige und wichtige Führungserfahrung.
  • Ausdehnung der Kadervorkurse auf eine Woche, zur Verstärkung der Führungskompetenz und generellen Verbesserung der Kaderausbildung.
 

3. Vollständige Ausrüstung

  • Verkleinerung der Armee und Neuzuweisung des Materials ermöglicht eine vollständige Ausrüstung, insbesondere für Leistungen zur Unterstützung ziviler Behörden und Basisleistungen.
  • Milizformationen mit hoher Bereitschaft werden in Armeelogistikcentern oder in ihren Aussenstellen mit reserviertem Material rasch ausgerüstet.
 

4. Regionale Verankerung

  • Zivile Behörden werden rasch und flexibel  von Territorialdivisionen unterstützt, sie leisten Katastrophenhilfe, Sicherungs- und Unterstützungseinsätze oder übernehmen im Fall eines militärischen Angriffs auch Schutz- und Sicherungsaufgaben (Bindeglied zu den Kantonen).
  • Verstärkung der Territorialdivisionen durch organisch unterstellte Truppenkörper (ein Stabsbataillon, vier Infanteriebataillone, ein Geniebataillon und ein Rettungsbataillon) und der Möglichkeit von weiteren Zuweisungen.

Bat Kdt


Geschätzte Angehörige des Gebirgsinfanteriebataillons 91,

Sehr geehrte Besucher und Interessenten,

 

Es ist mir eine Freude, Sie auf der offiziellen Webseite des Gebirgsinfanteriebataillons 91 begrüssen zu dürfen! Getreu dem Motto „Gemeinsam in der Verantwortung, gemeinsam erfolgreich“ leistet das traditionsreiche und anlässlich der Weiterentwicklung der Armee reaktivierte Geb Inf Bat 91 seinen Beitrag zur Wahrung der Stabilität, Sicherheit und Wohlfahrt der Schweiz und deren Bevölkerung.

Für die Auftragserfüllung sind Werte wie Pflichtbewusstsein, Ordnung und Disziplin unumgänglich. Leistungsbereite Soldaten und engagierte Kader, die ihre persönlichen Bedürfnisse zugunsten des Ganzen zurückstellen und dabei pflichtbewusst, ordnungsbewusst und diszipliniert handeln, sind deshalb existenziell für den Erfolg des Bataillons.

Umso mehr erfüllt es mich mit Stolz, sagen zu dürfen, dass diese Werte im Geb Inf Bat 91 gelebt werden. Im Wissen, dass jede Kette nur so stark wie ihr schwächstes Glied ist und dieses mit jeder Aufgabe ändert, nehmen wir Rücksicht aufeinander und handeln stets kameradschaftlich.

Für diese Grundhaltung und für den Einsatz, den sie zugunsten unseres Bataillons und der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft leisten, spreche ich allen Angehörigen des Gebirgsinfanteriebataillons 91 meinen persönlichen Dank aus!

Ich freue mich auf die nächste Dienstleistung mit Ihnen, die vom 16.03.2020 bis 03.04.2020 stattfinden wird.

 

Oberstlt i Gst Ralf Walser

Kdt Geb Inf Bat 91

 

Fotos

Unbenannt

Geb Inf Bat 91 Kdo Ter Div 3
Neuland 8
CH-6460 Altdorf
Tel.
+41 58 481 43 43‬
Fax
+41 58 481 43 45

Medienkontakt

Fachof (Hptm) Oliver Küsterling
Presse- und Informationsoffizier Geb Inf Bat 91

E-Mail

Geb Inf Bat 91

Kdo Ter Div 3
Neuland 8
CH-6460 Altdorf