print preview

Military Psychology and Military Pedagogics

Herbsttagung_MILAK_2018_v3

 

The Department of Military Psychology and Pedagogics deals with the research and teaching of the psychological aspects of staff selection, training and leadership. Teaching focuses on the typical stress experienced by military personnel in everyday life and on deployment, on the mental prerequisites for individual staff members, and on providing appropriate coping strategies. It also deals with aspects of military training and motivations.

While the focus of military psychology is on basic research and on its relevance for the armed forces, military pedagogics primarily addresses national and cultural aspects, in particular the military education of soldiers. The teaching aims to have a direct and lasting influence on the behaviour and values of military personnel.

Main Areas of Research

  • Implementation, evaluation and further development of assessment centres in various areas of officer selection
  • Quality characteristics of selection and assessment processes (e.g. evaluation and further development of instruments for conscript officer selection)
  • Key motivational factors and ways of influencing them
  • Influence of personality and context factors on commitment, job satisfaction and success
  • Persuasion techniques, and negotiation skills and strategies in the military environment
  • Stress and stress management in a military context
  • Recording and training of resilience in the military, and evaluation of the effects of resilience training
  • Values and virtues in the armed forces and their impact on military education and organisational culture
  • Coaching of professional soldiers in leadership positions

Assessment Center

SQS_Stempel_Swiss_Assessment_10.13

Drawing on its expertise in the field of staff assessment and selection, the Department of Military Psychology and Pedagogics of the Military Academy (MILAC) at the ETH Zurich is specifically responsible for the scientific management of various selection procedures, such as that of the Assessment Centre for Prospective Career Officers, the Assessment Centre for Prospective Career NCOs, the Assessment Centre for Prospective General Staff Officers and the Assessment Centre for Prospective Defence Attachés. These selection procedures are evaluated at regular intervals. The results serve to optimise procedures and are presented to academic committees.. 


Badge_MILAK

Head of Military Psychology and Military Pedagogics

Military Academy (MILAC) at ETH Zurich Kaserne Reppischtal
CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Tel.
+41 58 484 82 31

E-Mail

print preview

Dozentur Militärpsychologie und Militärpädagogik

Herbsttagung_MILAK_2018_v3

 

Die Dozentur Militärpsychologie und -pädagogik beschäftigt sich in Forschung und Lehre mit den psychologischen Aspekten der Auswahl, Ausbildung und Führung von Armeeangehörigen. Dabei stehen die für Militärpersonen typischen Belastungen im militärischen Alltag und Einsatz, die individuellen mentalen Voraussetzungen, die entsprechenden Bewältigungsmöglichkeiten sowie Aspekte der militärischen Erziehung und der Motivation von Armeeangehörigen im Fokus.

Während sich die Militärpsychologie an der Grundlagenforschung und deren Relevanz für die Armee orientiert, richtet sich die Militärpädagogik vor allem an den nationalen bzw. kulturspezifischen Gegebenheiten aus und beschäftigt sich insbesondere mit der militärischen Erziehung von Armeeangehörigen. Schwerpunkt hier ist die zielgerichtete und nachhaltige Einflussnahme auf deren Werthaltung und Verhalten.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Durchführung, Evaluation und Weiterentwicklung von Assessment Centern in verschiedenen Bereichen der Kaderselektion
  • Qualitätsmerkmale von Selektions- und Beurteilungsprozessen (zB Evaluation und Weiterentwicklung der Instrumente zur Milizkaderselektion)
  • Wesentliche Motivationsfaktoren und Möglichkeiten zu deren Beeinflussung
  • Einfluss von Persönlichkeits- und Kontextfaktoren auf  Commitment, Arbeitszufriedenheit und -erfolg
  • Überzeugungstechniken sowie Verhandlungsführung und -strategien im  militärischen Umfeld
  • Stress und Stressbewältigung im militärischen Kontext
  • Erfassung und Training von Resilienz im Militär sowie Evaluation der Effekte von Resilienztraining
  • Werte und Tugenden in der Armee und deren Auswirkungen auf die militärische Erziehung und Organisationskultur
  • Coaching von militärischen Berufskadern

Assessment Center

SQS_Stempel_Swiss_Assessment_10.13

Im Rahmen ihrer Exptertise im Bereich Personalbeurteilung und - selektion ist die Dozentur Militärpsychologie und Militärpädagogik der MILAK/ETH Zürich konkret für die wissenschaftliche Leitung verschiedener Auswahlverfahren verantwortlich, namentlich die Assessment Center für angehende Berufsoffiziere (ACABO), für angehende Berufsunteroffiziere (ACABU), für angehende Generalstabsoffiziere (AC Gst Of) sowie für angehende Verteidigungsattachés (ACAVA). Diese Auswahlverfahren werden regelmässig evaluiert und die Ergebnisse werden einerseits zur Optimierung derselben verwendet und andererseits in wissenschaftlichen Gremien präsentiert.


Badge_MILAK

Dozent Militärpsychologie und Militärpädagogik

Militärakademie (MILAK) an der ETH Zürich Kaserne Reppischtal
CH-8903 Birmensdorf
Tel.
+41 58 484 82 31

E-Mail