FLIR / Super Puma (TH06, PU FLIR)

The Super Puma is a twin-engine helicopter with excellent night and instrument flight characteristics, which makes it ideal for carrying the FLIR system.

Super Puma FLIR
Group
Aircraft
Class
Helicopters
Place of operation
Air

The strengths of the FLIR system lie in its ability to locate heat sources and other targets, even over long distances, independently of the time of day. The system is mainly used to assist the partner organisations of the Swiss Security Network SSN in search and rescue, border surveillance and police operations, and in the event of natural disasters.

The Swiss Air Force uses four FLIR systems. These devices can be fitted into the helicopter within a few hours. At least one of these systems is constantly ready to be operated by the search and rescue standby team. The Super Puma is a twin-engine helicopter with excellent night and instrument flight characteristics. Equipped with the FLIR system, an additional powerful search headlight and a rescue winch, the helicopter provides an efficient system for civilian authority support operations.

Forward Looking Infrared (FLIR), has become a synonym for thermal imaging systems. The third generation sensor packages used today, include not only infrared (IR) but also various electro-optical imaging sensors. The sensors provide superior image stabilisation in response to helicopter movement and vibration, thus allowing high-resolution long-range images to be taken.

If required, real-time transmission of the system's images to mobile taskforces, emergency committees in military command facilities or civilian authorities is possible.

print preview

FLIR / Super Puma (TH06, PU FLIR)

Der Super Puma ist ein zweimotoriger Helikopter mit ausgezeichneten Nacht- und Instrumentenflugeigenschaften und dadurch ein idealer Träger des FLIR-Systems.

Super Puma FLIR
Gruppe
Luftfahrzeuge
Klasse
Helikopter
Einsatzort
Luft

Die Stärken des FLIR-Systems liegen im tageszeitunabhängigen Auffinden von Wärmequellen und anderen Zielen, auch auf grosse Distanzen. Das System wird hauptsächlich unterstützend zu Gunsten der Partner im Sicherheitsverbund Schweiz (SVS) eingesetzt (Suchen und Retten, Grenzüberwachung, Polizeieinsätze, Naturereignisse).

Der Luftwaffe stehen vier FLIR-Systeme zur Verfügung. Diese Rüstsätze können innerhalb weniger Stunden in den Helikopter eingebaut werden, wobei mindestens ein System im Rahmen des Piketts "Search and Rescue" (SAR) in dauernder Bereitschaft steht. Der Super Puma ist ein zweimotoriger Helikopter, welcher über ausgezeichnete Nacht- und Instrumentenflugeigenschaften verfügt. Ausgerüstet mit dem FLIR-System, dem zusätzlichen starken Suchscheinwerfer und der Rettungswinde ist er ein leistungsfähiges System im Einsatz zu Gunsten der Bevölkerung.

"Forward looking Infrared" (FLIR) gilt inzwischen als Synonym für Wärmebildsysteme. Die heutzutage eingesetzten Sensorpakete decken jedoch nicht nur den Bereich Infrarot (IR) ab, sondern beinhalten mehrere elektrooptische, bildgebende Sensoren. Sie zeichnen sich durch eine vollständige Stabilisierung der Sensoren gegenüber Bewegungen des Helikopters aus, sodass auch aus grosser Distanz hochaufgelöste Bilder möglich sind.

Bei Bedarf können die Bildprodukte des Systems in Echtzeit an mobile Einsatzkräfte, Einsatzstäbe in Kommandoeinrichtungen der Armee oder zivile Behörden übertragen werden.