Print this page | Close window
Swiss Armed Forces

SWISSCOY (Kosovo)

SWISSCOY change of command.
Change of Command on the airport in Pristina.

Factsheet

Since October 1999, the Swiss Armed Forces have been involved in Kosovo in the international Kosovo Force (KFOR) peace support mission with SWISSCOY– short for Swiss company. SWISSCOY is composed of up to 235 voluntary military persons that are armed for self defence with pistols, assault rifles and riot agent dispensers.

The deployment of SWISSCOY dates back to the Federal Council’s decision on 23 June 1999 to participate in KFOR on the basis of UN Resolution 1244. In spring 2014, the Parliament approved a further extension of the mandate until the end of 2017. The 2014 budget comprises 41.8 million francs. Colonel Reto Flühmann is currently serving as Swiss national contingent commander (NCC) for the area of operations. 

The positive development of the security situation in Kosovo has led to changes in KFOR structures and a step-by-step reduction in the number of security elements. While in the beginning, emergency aid and reconstruction after the war were the focus of the mission, current attention is on monitoring the development of the country. To meet the changed requirements the SWISSCOY contingent is taking on new tasks. 

On 1 January 2012, a Swiss colonel assumed command of Joint Regional Detachment North (JRD North) and reports directly to the commander of KFOR. The EOD team (explosive ordnance disposal) and the liaison and monitoring teams (LMT) have been assigned to SWISSCOY since April 2010. The tasks of the LMTs consist in collecting information by conversing with the people and the authorities and passing these on to the KFOR commander who uses these reports, amongst other, as a basis for operational decisions. A local interpreter always accompanies the LMTs. The originally two LMTs were increased to four by November 2010. Two LMTs are in the south and are living in private houses in Malishevo and Prizren. Two other LMTs are stationed at Camp Novo Selo, south of Mitrovica and operate in various assigned areas. 

In accordance with its mandate SWISSCOY fulfils both multi-national and national tasks. Its major part fulfils multi-national services as listed below and is for this purpose assigned to other KFOR organisations for operational cooperation:
- Transport platoon with special vehicles
- Engineer platoon in charge of general construction projects of KFOR
- Liaison and monitoring teams (LMTs) at four locations
- Staff officers at HQ KFOR and joint regional detachment (JRD) levels
- International Military Police (IMP)
- Explosive ordnance disposal team (EOD)
- Medical team
- Air force detachment with Cougar helicopter. The air force detachment is now assigned to KFOR headquarters and stationed at Camp Bondsteel. 

The other part of SWISSCOY fulfils both purely national and bi-national tasks on the basis of a technical agreement with partners. These include the NCC staff, the national support element (NSE) for resupply and return tasks as well as the support company. A well organised and efficient support company is required to enable the performance of operational SWISSCOY elements.
Purely national logistic services, contingent organisation as well as personnel and disciplinary punishment issues are exclusively under the command of the NCC. 

Depending on their function, SWISSCOY members have been stationed at three different camps since the summer of 2012. The staff, the military police force, the EOD team, SWIC as well as some of the signal corps and parts of the medical team are located at KFOR headquarters in Pristina. The support company, the transport platoon, the engineer platoon as well as some of the signal corps and parts of the medical team are stationed at the field camp in Prizren. The JRD-N is based in the camp Novo Selo just south of Mitrovica.   

 

Map Kosovo

Map of Kosovo

For questions about this page: Swiss Armed Forces International Command

Presentation

  • SWISSCOY

    Presentation of SWISSCOY. If you want to order the presentation on CD-ROM on loan, please address info.swisspso@vtg.admin.ch

    Published at: 11.03.2014 | Size: 3057 Kb | Type: PDF

Links

 

Print this page | Close window

Seite drucken | Fenster schliessen
Schweizer Armee

SWISSCOY (Kosovo)

Change of Command bei der SWISSCOY im Oktober 2012
Kommandowechsel auf dem Flughafen in Pristina

Factsheet

Seit Oktober 1999 beteiligt sich die Schweizer Armee mit der SWISSCOY – für Swiss Company – an der internationalen friedensfördernden Mission Kosovo Force (KFOR) in Kosovo. Die SWISSCOY setzt sich aus bis zu 235 freiwilligen, zum Selbstschutz mit Pistole, Sturmgewehr und Reizstoffsprühgerät (RSG) bewaffneten Angehörigen der Armee zusammen. 

Der Einsatz der SWISSCOY geht auf den Bundesratsentscheid vom 23. Juni 1999 zurück, sich militärisch, basierend auf der UNO-Resolution 1244, an der KFOR zu beteiligen. 1. Das Parlament hat im Frühling 2014 einer erneuten Verlängerung des Mandats bis Ende 2017 zugestimmt. 

Das Budget für 2014 beträgt 41.8 Millionen Franken. Als Nationaler Schweizer Befehlshaber (NCC) im Einsatzraum (Kosovo) amtet ab 10. Oktober 2014 Oberst Reto Flühmann. 

Die positive Entwicklung der Sicherheitslage im Kosovo führt zu Veränderungen in den Strukturen der KFOR und zu einem schrittweisen Abbau der Anzahl Sicherungselemente. Stand zu Anfang der Mission noch Nothilfe und Wiederaufbau nach dem Krieg im Mittelpunkt, geht es heute um die Überwachung der Entwicklung des Landes. Um den veränderten Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, übernimmt die SWISSCOY neue Aufgaben. 

Seit 1. Januar 2012 hat ein Schweizer Oberst das Kommando des Joint Regional Detachement North (JRD North) und rapportiert direkt dem Kommandanten der KFOR. Seit April 2010 sind das EOD Team (Explosive Ordnance Disposal = Kampfmittelbeseitigung) sowie die Liaison and Monitoring Teams (LMT) Teile der SWISSCOY. Die Aufgabe der LMTs besteht darin, durch Gespräche mit der Bevölkerung und den Behörden Informationen zu sammeln und dem Kommandanten der KFOR weiterzuleiten, der diese Meldungen unter anderem als Basis für operationelle Entscheide nutzt. Ein lokaler Übersetzer begleitet die LMTs stets. Die SWISSCOY umfasst 4 LMTs à 7 bis 12 Personen, wovon zwei im Süden und zwei im Norden stationiert sind. Drei LMTs sind in Privathäusern in Malishevo, Prizren und Mitrovica untergebracht und leben somit inmitten der lokalen Bevölkerung. Ein LMT wohnt im Camp Marechal de Lattre de Tassigny in Novo Selo.

Die SWISSCOY erfüllt gemäss Mandat multinationale und nationale Aufgaben. Der grössere Teil der SWISSCOY erbringt mit den unten aufgelisteten Elementen Leistungen im multinationalen Rahmen und ist dafür zur operationellen Zusammenarbeit anderen KFOR-Organisationseinheiten zugewiesen:
- Transportzug mit Spezialfahrzeugen
- Genie-Zug, für allgemeine Bauvorhaben der KFOR zuständig
- Liaison and Monitoring Teams (LMTs) an vier Standorten
- Stabsoffiziere auf Stufe HQ KFOR und Joint Regional Detachement (JRD)
- Internationale Militärpolizei (IMP)
- Explosive Ordnance Disposal Team (EOD)
- Medical Team
- Luftwaffen-Detachement, das über einen Helikopter vom Typ Superpuma verfügt. Das Luftwaffen-Detachement ist dem KFOR Hauptquartier zugewiesen und im Camp Bondsteel stationiert. 

Der andere Teil der SWISSCOY erfüllt sowohl rein nationale wie auch binationale Aufträge aufgrund einer technischen Vereinbarung mit Partnern. Darunter fallen der Stab NCC, das Nationale Support Element (NSE) für Nachschub- und Rückschub-Aufgaben sowie die Supportkompanie. Eine gut organisierte und effizient arbeitende Supportkompanie ist erforderlich, um die Leistungen der operationellen SWISSCOY-Elemente zu ermöglichen.
Rein nationale logistische Leistungen, Kontingentsorganisation sowie das Personal- und Disziplinarstrafwesen befinden sich ausschliesslich unter dem Kommando des NCC und damit der Schweiz. 

Die SWISSCOY-Angehörigen sind seit Sommer 2012, abhängig von der Funktion, in drei verschiedenen Camps stationiert. Der Stab, die Militärpolizei, das EOD-Team, die SWIC sowie Teile der Übermittlung und Teile des Medical Teams befinden sich im Hauptquartier der KFOR in Pristina. Die Supportkompanie, der Transportzug, der Genie-Zug sowie Teile der Übermittlung und Teile des Medical Teams sind im Feldlager Prizren stationiert. Das JRD-Nord erfüllt seine Aufträge aus dem Camp Marechal de Lattre de Tassigny in Novo Selo südlich von Mitrovica.

 

Karte Kosovo

Karte Kosovo

Dokumente SWISSCOY

  • Bericht 2012

    Bericht 2012 über den Einsatz der Schweizer Kompanie (SWISSCOY) in der multinationalen Kosovo Force (KFOR)

    Publiziert am: 07.01.2013 | Grösse: 152 Kb | Typ: PDF

  • Bericht 2011

    Bericht 2011 über den Einsatz der Schweizer Kompanie (SWISSCOY) in der multinationalen Kosovo Force (KFOR)

    Publiziert am: 20.02.2012 | Grösse: 226 Kb | Typ: PDF

  • Bundesbeschluss Verlängerung bis 2014

    Bundesbeschluss zur Verlängerung der SWISSCOY bis Ende 2014.

    Publiziert am: 10.06.2013 | Grösse: 95 Kb | Typ: PDF

Für Fragen zu dieser Seite: Kompetenzzentrum SWISSINT

Stellenmarkt

Hier finden Sie eine detaillierte Aufstellung aller Jobpositionen in der SWISSCOY sowie die erforderlichen Bewerbungsunterlagen

 

Ausbildungskurs

32. Kontingent: Jan bis Apr 2015
33. Kontingent: Juli bis Okt 2015 

Mehr Informationen hier.

 

Präsentation

  • SWISSCOY

    Eine Präsentation über die SWISSCOY. Den Vortrag können Sie auch leihweise bestellen als CD-Rom via info.swisspso@vtg.admin.ch.

    Publiziert am: 15.12.2014 | Grösse: 3087 Kb | Typ: PDF

Weiterführende Links

 

Seite drucken | Fenster schliessen